The Cosette Dress

Pattern: Cossette Dress by Violette Field Threads

Fabric: White Kona Cotton

 

I saw this pattern online and thought it was so adorable, I couldn’t wait to make it for boo. This was my first pattern I attempted from Violette Field Thread (vft) and if you haven’t heard of them before you should check them out. They are all about poofy and twirly and girly.

I tend to use pdf patterns almost exclusively  because they are so easy to keep track of an take up very little space of course. This pattern was pretty typical to put together and fast to cut out since it didn’t really consist of that many pieces.

vftdress3

The part of this pattern that took the longest was the middle front panel and making the pleats. I sort of rushed through it so they weren’t exactly evenly spaced. I think it kind of adds some character though. The rest of it pretty much flew together. However, if your like me and sew in the middle of the night a lot, mistakes happen……

Somehow I mixed up two of the back pieces and ended up screwing up the length so I couldn’t make the tiers at the bottom they way it was supposed to have. In the end it worked out though, I altered on the fly and just added one tier.

vftdress2

Boo doesn’t really have that many dresses but she sure loves this one. Since I made it, it is one of the regular items she picks out to put on. So I think this summer there will be a lot more dresses in her wardrobe.

vftdress1

One thought on “The Cosette Dress

  1. This is such a cute dress! I love reading your blog, too! Getting the background and history of the making of the outfit is really interesting. I have to say, though, the highlight of the blog has to be the model herself – wearing the dress, of course. Good job! Looking forward to more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

